Mayor & City Council


Business meetings for the Common Council are scheduled the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month beginning at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers, City Hall, 222 Lewis Street.

Meetings are open to the public. They are recorded and saved on the City’s website and Youtube Channel


The Council consists of seven alderpersons, one member from each of the City's  four aldermanic districts, three at large, and the mayor. At Large alderpersons represent all districts. 

Mayor Dan TolandDan Toland
Term expires April 2024
Scott Morrissette

Scott Morrissette
Alderperson at Large and 
Council President
Term expires April 2024

Sean Downing 
Alderperson District 1  
Term expires April 2025
Map of District 1

Diane Odeen
Alderperson at Large and Comptroller
Term expires April 2025

Nick Carow 
Alderperson District 2
Term expires April 2025
Map of District  2

Jeff Bjork
Alderperson at Large 
Term expires April 2024
Alyssa Mueller
Alderperson District 3
Term expires April 2025
Map of District 3

Todd Bjerstedt
Alderperson District 4 and Deputy Comptroller  
Term expires April 2024
Map of District 4

Duties & Mission

The Mayor and City Council are the governing body for the City of River Falls. The Common Council Bylaws regulate the business of the City Council by clarifying or summarizing City ordinances and policies, or guiding the City Council in municipal matters. Except as otherwise provided by law, the City Council shall have the management and control of the city property, finances, highways, streets, utilities, and the public service. The Council may act for the government and good order of the city, for its commercial benefit, and for the health, safety, welfare, and convenience of the public.


The Council may carry its powers into effect by license, regulation, suppression, borrowing, taxation, special assessment, appropriation, imposition, of forfeiture and other necessary or convenient means.


For more information, check out the Public Resources and Transparency pages.

State of the City

Annually, the City Council receives a State of the City address. The address highlights City happenings from the previous year. In 2012, the address began to be produced in a video format that highlighted major accomplishments supporting the established organizational goals. View the 2023 State of the City.